fullpan.blogg.se

Mac superdrive driver for windows 10
Mac superdrive driver for windows 10




mac superdrive driver for windows 10
  1. #MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 MAC OS X#
  2. #MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 INSTALL#
  3. #MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 DRIVERS#
  4. #MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 UPDATE#

In my case it was the disk1 and I partition number 3 ( disk1s3 as seen from Disk Utility’s Info). To get Virtual Box to use your physical Boot Camp partition, you have to make a raw disk image that is bound to your physical disk. I used Oracle’s excellent (and free) Virtual Box virtualization tool. (Thanks, Bill, for pointing out that I had omitted this step). Now eject your Boot Camp partition so that it can be remounted elewhere. Let Boot Camp Assistant download latest support software Set up Virtual Box guest

#MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 DRIVERS#

Using Boot Camp for this step has the side effect that it gives you the option to download latest Boot Camp drivers for windows (just have a USB stick ready to store them). I had my partition left over from one of the tries with Boot Camp Assistant and USB DVD-drive. You can use Boot Camp Assistant to shrink existing HFS+ partition and create a FAT32 partition or you can do it yourself via Disk Utility or diskutil command line tool. Create partitionĬreate a partition in some way. If you find some errors, please comment on them. Note: At this point I had tried multitude of setups already and I can’t be sure that all of the steps below are necessary nor that all of the required steps are listed. Unfortunately I can not find the original post that lead me to the idea, but it was probably somewhere in this thread. What ended up working was a variant of the Virtual Machine method, that used Virtual Box to make the partition bootable and then copy over the installation files to that partition. While most of the time Mac menu didn’t show me anything besides primary partition and Recovery HD, rEFIt showed me Windows partition (sometimes two of them pointing to the same partition), but was not able to boot from them (giving different errors from EFI failures to Windows complaining that winload.exe is missing or corrupt).

#MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 MAC OS X#

Finally I noticed that I had actually two boot loaders – Mac’s own Option-key triggered menu and then the rEFIt that was installed on the primary Mac OS X partition. I still had rEFIt installed and I retried some of previous failed attempts, including booting from USB, but still no effect.

mac superdrive driver for windows 10 mac superdrive driver for windows 10

So, running out of options, I decided to decrypt my partition, which I’d have had to do anyway sometime to be able to resize the encrypted partition over the previous Boot Camp partition (Disk Utility is not able to resize encrypted partitions). If Boot Camp dual-booting is not enough for you, there is the rEFIt alternative boot manager that gives you more power over boot options. But it turns out that although rEFIt installs without any complaints, it fails to load from File Vault 2 encrypted partition, which is understandable as I haven’t yet provided my passkey. Intel Macs have been using EFI instead of BIOS for booting up the system since the beginning. With all of these options I also combined rEFIt to no avail.

mac superdrive driver for windows 10

#MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 INSTALL#

Then I used Virtual Box to fully install Windows on physical partition and that did not show up in the boot menu either. USB-booting installer Boot Camp Assistant warning that I need optical driveįirst I tried to fake Boot Camp Assistant to create bootable USB stick, but that did not boot for some reason. Also, YMMV, so if my method does not work, you can try one of these and see if you have success with them. You can skip to Success Story if you are not curious.

#MAC SUPERDRIVE DRIVER FOR WINDOWS 10 UPDATE#

UPDATE 3: posted excellent step-by-step instructions down in the comments on how he got it working. So if your Mac came without SuperDrive from the Factory, try the official method first. UPDATE 2: I have confirmed lately that the official Boot Camp Assistant method does work on MacBook Pro Retina (Mid 2012) with OS X 10.8.2 (12C3012) on it. UPDATE: From the comments it seems that on Mountain Lion 10.8.2 you do NEED rEFIt for the Windows partition to be visible in Boot Menu. Right after I swapped my SuperDrive to second internal HDD I was graving to move my 20 GB Boot Camp partition to the other drive and make it bigger, so that I don’t have to carry another USB disk for my games.






Mac superdrive driver for windows 10